Maker Pro
Maker Pro

triac based 50v to 110v battery charger

n1tromad

Nov 30, 2014
Hello all

to best understand this i think some background is needed :)

i work at a heritage railway. we have some locos "class 08 shunters " that run on a 90volt system. we also have 110volts loco's and 48volts locos. an passed away member built a triac based circuit using a 230v to 110v ac transformer.

i have never worked with triac's before and looking on advice how to go about this.i could just copy the current and only charger but it not very user friendly you got use a POT to set voltage needed and well lets just say some users more than once tried charging 48v loco with POT cranked upto 110v !

i was thinking more in line of a three way selector for the three voltages but i not sure if that would work with triac circuit.

also there is next to no failsafes just MCB on pri and sec sides

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
You can replace the pot by 4 resistors and a three way switch like this:
upload_2017-2-28_20-4-45.png
The values of the resistors need to be determined such that the voltages at the 3 taps are equivalent to the voltages you select by the respective potentiometer setting.

some users more than once tried charging 48v loco with POT cranked upto 110v !
A selector switch will not prevent a user selecting the wrong voltage. A fail-safe method I can imagine is by using three different, incompatibe plug/socket combinations for the charger cable and using a double-pole three-way switch which not only sets the correct output voltage as shown above but also switches the output of the converter to the respective socket. This way only one socket will be powered at a time, namley the one which corresponds to the set voltage.

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
You could measure the loco battery voltage and only connect the charger when it senses one of the three voltages. This would mean that no charging would occur if the battery was badly out of charge.