Connect with us

Treble bleed mod.. which one is the best?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by electronoobz, Dec 13, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. electronoobz

electronoobz

Jan 14, 2012
    i saw it here : http://www.projectguitar.com/tut/potm.htm

i have a guitar with a 250k vol pot and 250k (yeah, i think.. but i know it's 500k)..

i want to mod it.. hmm

which of those 3 could i use?

can you explain the differences please?

this is my first time to do a treble bleed. haha so excited! :DD

2. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    What exactly is the question?

If its for the value of potentiometer to choose, I can't help.

If it's for the value of the paralllel resistor to an existing potentiometer, that's easy:
    Rtotal= (Rpot*Rpar)/(Rpot+Rpar).
    So if you have any two values (say the expected total resistance Rtotal and the potentiometer's resistance Rpot, you can easily find out which resitance Rpar to connect in parallel.

3. electronoobz

electronoobz

Jan 14, 2012
    no what i mean is what of those 3 treble bleed method is the best i can use with my pots in my guitar

4. KrisBlueNZ

KrisBlueNZ Sadly passed away in 2015

Nov 28, 2011
    The guy who wrote that tutorial doesn't know much about electronics. Don't take too much notice of what he says.

The so-called "treble bleed" modification involves putting a small-value capacitor, around 1~2 nF (".001", ".0012" etc), optionally with a resistor in series with it, between the signal end of the volume potentiometer on a guitar, and the wiper. This gives some treble boost and "brightness" to the sound over a moderate range of adjustment of the volume control.