Connect with us

Transistor Uses

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by dondon, Jan 24, 2015.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. dondon

dondon

Jan 24, 2015
    Hello! Good Day! It's my first time here so please forgive me for whatever mistakes I will be going to make.

I became interested in electronics because I think that it will be good to me. So therefore I am new to electronics.

I searched about Transistors especially those BJT and I found out that it's most common uses are being as a switch and as an amplifier.

I am just simple type and below average type of person and my knowledge in English language is very limited. I've poorly understand those stated in internet about its uses. It takes time for us (together with my friend) to write this Thread using good grammar.

Can someone here discuss me the HOW, WHY, and WHEN does a transistor became switch and HOW, WHY, and WHEN does a transistor became an amplifier.

Please discuss it using very common words and discuss it in a way you are discussing to a child (because I am slightly below average person). Please Please Please Teach me about this. I want to make some simple electronic circuits soon.

Note :
    I understand that diode has forward and reverse biasing.
    I don't want some biasing of transistor is to be discussed here. I will come to that part as soon a understand how a transistor became switch and amplifier
    I know about Ohm's Law
    Most of all, please respect. You all started in nothing so please appreciate.

Thank You So Much Everyone!

2. LvW

LvW

Apr 12, 2014
    I do not intend to go into details for this first answer. Therefore, as a starting point, some general points only:
    1.) Usage as a switch: The transistor cannot be used as a signal switch (like a relay) but only as a switch that can provide two FIXED ouput voltages (high/low) depending on a smaller control signal (voltage high/low) at the controlling input (base node).