Connect with us

transistor pain

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Britannicus, Feb 27, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Britannicus

Britannicus

Feb 26, 2012
    Capture.JPG

Hi All - I'm a real newbie here, so I'm going to have to air my ignorance big time.

I've been plaing with STAMP microcontrollers for a bit - mostly driving stuff from their Board of education, but I'm trying something new and failing totally.

The STAMP doesn't deliver enough power to run a motor really - I'm therefore trying to use a pin out to control a PNP transistor. This in turn I hope to switch on/off a 9V supply which has enough power to turn the motor.

I actually want to pulse the motor so came up with the circuit attached. The LED flashes so I know the base on my transistor is getting a regular 1 second on / off 10Ma 5V signal. I'd hope this would permit the motor to then pulse 1 second at a time. I'm getting nothing through the emittor to the battery and am confused as to why -

Am I ingorant of transistors ???
    Is my circuit wrong
    have I trashed my transistor and I don' tknow it

Hi probability is all 3 !

I've tried swapping the 3906 PNP with a 3904 NPN on the basis that this would work bu tas though the pin lo/hi was swapped around

I'd really value some help for a dummy !

2. jackorocko

jackorocko

Apr 4, 2010
    Sry, disregard what I said earlier, it was totally wrong.

3. jackorocko

jackorocko

Apr 4, 2010
    Let me start again.

A PNP transistor turns on when the base is more negative in respect to the emitter by about -0.7V. You have 9V on the emitter and 0 - 5V on the base at any given time. This should keep the transistor in the ON state continuously.

What is the current rating of the motor?

Last edited: Feb 27, 2012
  4. Britannicus

Britannicus

Feb 26, 2012
    Hi jackorocko,

Thanks for the tip - I'm really green with this stuff. I fed the base with straight 10Ma from the STAMP output.