Connect with us

Transistor help!

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by eveares, Feb 25, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. eveares

eveares

Feb 25, 2013
    Hi, I am new to electronics and thus sorry if this does not make sense.

I want to build a simple circuit with transistors and resistors that will operate a emitter pin on a transistor when the current reaches or exceeds a certain level on a smoke detector.

The collector pin voltage will be 15-24 volts

The base pin voltage will be 5 volts or less

The emitter pin voltage will be 5 volts or less

And the the emitter needs to operate when the collector pins has 1ma or more passing through it.
    (smoke detector consumes under 1ma in standby state, over 1ma in alarm state)

Finally can you please tell me how to calculate such a thing and what transistors and resistors i need how they should be connected.

Regards; Elliott V

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    I think you don't understand transistors.

Explain what you're actually trying to do, like"

"I want to operate a relay when the smoke detector goes off"

It sounds like you've determined that there is a current which varies and that is what you want to use as a control signal. However I'd have to know how you've come to this conclusion :)

3. eveares

eveares

Feb 25, 2013
    Thank you Steve;

Basically I want to control and activate a alarm/sounder when the smoke detector is triggered. The detector consumed 16ma at 22.5v in alarm state and 60 micro amps at 22.5v in normal state. I want to be able to detect when the detector is in alarm state and activate a transistor what will pass 5 volts to a pin on a i/o board.

(How do Conventional fire alarm panels detect detector state?)

A Relay can not be on its own due to the detector does not let enough current through to activate the relay. The detector wired directly to the alarm/sounder is a similar situation.

4. Miguel Lopez