Connect with us

Transistor gate voltage

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by sommech7498, Aug 13, 2017.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. sommech7498

sommech7498

Aug 13, 2017
    Hey guys. I'm new to electronics here and need help figuring out a circuit I'm trying to make.
    I've attached an image below of the circuit I'm trying to make. Basically this is a tester for automotive purposes.it's a 12v circuit with a 100w rheostat/pot I'm using as a load. I will only be turning it on for a second or 2 max and really only plan on running 4-5 amps through it but want to be capable lf more if needed. I want to be able to turn on the transistor with a 9v and have the transistor and battery mounted on a pcb. I have 2 questions for this circuit. 1 is what kind of transistor should I be using. And 2 is how can I figure out what resistor to use for the transistor gate? Thanks for the help in advance.

Attached Files:

2. bigone5500

bigone5500

Apr 9, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
  3. Alec_t

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
    With a FET, as above, you wouldn't need a resistor in series with the gate, but you would need one (say 33k or so, not critical) between the gate and the source pins to ensure the FET turns off when the switch opens.

4. AnalogKid

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
    Your drawing has two wires going to what I think you mean to be the base of a bipolar transistor (not a FET). Also, there is no connection between the base circuit and the emitter, so it looks like nothing will happen.

In your post, you don't say what it is you want the circuit to do. If you want the transistor to act as an on-off switch to put an adjustable load on the 12 V battery, you're not there yet. There are two circuit loops, one putting current into the base and one putting current into the collector. Both of these currents go through the emitter, which is why it has to somehow be common to both current loops.