Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Transforming hammer help

keyblade_crafter

Dec 1, 2015
So I've decided to make this transforming hammer, and I'm going to need to some help with terminology and figuring out how to make it since I'm a newbie to this sort of thing.

Basically, the hammer transforms from a "hammer form" to a "cannon form", where the sides split apart and slide out and down and 4 telescopic cylinders come out. I believe that it's triggered by the red lever just under the hammer head either twisting, or squeezing it in as a switch.

jaycemercuryhammer1.png

jaycemercuryhammer.png

Now I have an idea of how it will move, but I don't have much of a clue what parts to use to make it move or what they would be called. I'll probably need some sort of linear actuator or slide to make the sides split apart. Maybe a stepper motor for making them open up.

Any help at all would be appreciated!

Last edited:

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Are you being serious?
You want to make a complex item but don't know what anything is called?
May be you should lay off the cartoons!!
And, you believe it's triggered by a red lever under the hammer head?
Sorry for being rude.....It just made me spit my tea on the keyboard!!! (coffee for Yanks)...

But seriously, if you have an idea of how to make this, please share!!

Martin

keyblade_crafter

Dec 1, 2015
I mean, I'm just trying to learn. No need to be rude. I'm currently searching for the names of pieces and motors I might need to make it. I want to get some high speed linear actuators for the telescoping parts, some sort of extrusion slides to make the sides split apart, but i'm not sure what to use to make the ends slide out at an angle.