Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Transformer help

bradt10550

Feb 19, 2015
Hi guys, I'm relatively new to electronics, and I'm trying to build a 15v 1A split rail power supply. I've found a pretty good schematic, but I'm having trouble finding a transformer that I can use with it. I really don't know much about transformers, so any info would be of great help, thanks! Also the schematic says 230v, but I'm in america so that would be 120v instead right?

Schematic:
CQNn0p0.jpg

Last edited:

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Hi guys, I'm relatively new to electronics, and I'm trying to build a 15v 1A split rail power supply. I've found a pretty good schematic, but I'm having trouble finding a transformer that I can use with it. I really don't know much about transformers, so any info would be of great help, thanks! Also the schematic says 230v, but I'm in america so that would be 120v instead right?

Schematic:
CQNn0p0.jpg
That transformer is a step-down transformer with a center-tap on the secondary.
Perhaps searching for similar key words will give you the result you need.

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
You can use e,g, this one. Note that this one has two primary coils which you'll need to connect in parallel.It also has two secondary coils, where you'll have to connect the center wires to create the 3-wire configuration as shown in your circuit diagram.

Observe the phases! Look at the datasheet:
  • On the primary side connect the two pins with the little dot and connect the two pins without dot. Do not mix dotted and un-dotted pins.
  • On the secondary side, connect the dotted pin of SEC1 with the un-dotted pin of SEC2.

For selecting another transformer, relevant parameters are:

• input voltage AC 115V or 120V at 60 Hz
  • output voltage 2*15V (rms)
  • output current 2*1A or output power 30 VA (30W) respectively