Maker Pro
Maker Pro

transformer blowing fuses

barsukas

Dec 3, 2011
My first post here, might be a stupid questions, sorry if it is.

So, my amp keeps blowing fuses, i took the transformer out, tried to turn it on and it blew a fuse with nothing connected to the secondary windings. Resistance of the primary winding is about 105 ohms, and the fuse is 0.25A 250V, resistance of it is 16ohms. I am really new to electronics, but i think that the resistance of the primary winding is much smaller, than it should be.

Is there a problem with the transformer or could there be something entirely different?

65074d1322933671-img_0938.jpg

alfa88

Dec 1, 2010
impedance

Welcome to the forum.
The value you speak of would be impedance not resistance. Think of impedance as an AC resistance . Compare the resistance of the other channel's transformer to verify the values are similar. My hunch is that it is something other than the transformer. A picture always work wonders here.

Last edited:

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
So how big is that transformer? At least it's smaller than 230V * 0.25A = 57VA. The resistance will depend on this.
It's hard to use resistance as a measure of transformer health unless one has an identical transformer to compare with. Measuring inductance would reveal it though.
An internal short may not affect resistance very much but will make the inductance very low.
Does the transformer output DC? Did you disconnect the secondary DC or AC?

davelectronic

Dec 13, 2010
Hi there. i cant add much at the moment, the previous two posts say the way forward, only thing i can add is your reading of the primary winding, ive measured a lot of primary windings from all sorts of gear, those readings are nothing unusual so long as the transformer has no short in its primary side. :)

alfa88

Dec 1, 2010
Clarification

Are we talking about an output transformer or a power transformer?

barsukas

Dec 3, 2011