Maker Pro
Maker Pro

traffic light australian with 2 555 timers

stspringer

May 10, 2019
Hello all,
Hope someone can help me. I can only get the green led to turn, off and on, the red and yellow stay on constantly. I tried many times to no avail. Does anyone have a link to where I can see the actual wire hook ups? I am a newbie going nuts.

Thanks

Attachments

• traffic light with 2 555 timers australian_2.png
    traffic light with 2 555 timers australian_2.png
    188 KB · Views: 15

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
Your question doesn't say *anything* about what it is you are trying to achieve. Please describe the timing sequence in a text table like this:

Red only: x seconds
Red and green: x seconds
Green only : x seconds
Green and yellow: x seconds
Yellow only: x seconds
repeat

Or something like that.

Also, the circuit has some issues. It usually is a bad idea to power one IC from the signal output of another IC. There are other ways to have one 555 control another. Also, the adjustment pots do not have any fixed resistance in series, so adjusting all the way to one end might damage the ICs.

For loooong timing periods like these, it is much better to use the CMOS version of the 555 - LMC555.

ak

Last edited:

stspringer

May 10, 2019
Your question doesn't say *anything* about what it is you are trying to achieve. Please describe the timing sequence in a text table like this:

Red only: x seconds
Red and green: x seconds
Green only : x seconds
Green and yellow: x seconds
Yellow only: x seconds
repeat

Or something like that.

ak
Sorry, all I have is this schematic which I uploaded. I thought it should work if I hooked up the wires as shown in the schematic.Could you get this to work if all you had was a schematic some one handed to you? Then you would change things perhaps to change the times you mention.Or am I way off base? Australian traffic light goes like this same as the US