Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Total Newbie Question: Using a relay as a switch?

BaconCatBug

May 25, 2017
Hi all. Once again I have a complete newbie question here,.

I wear headphones and more often than not I cannot hear when someone is knocking at the door. I have a wireless doorbell that lights up a piddly little red LED for about 5 seconds to visually catch my attention but as it's so nondescript I often don't notice it. A lot of the equipment tailored towards the hard of hearing with lights and such are horrendously overpriced because they can get away with the pricing. Instead I am hoping it would be possible to cut out that LED and replace it with a relay which will light up a string of flashing battery powered multicoloured LEDs instead.

This is a crude image of what I was hoping to do: http://imgur.com/a/r64un

My actual question is what kind of relay should I use or should I be using something else? I guess I am looking for advice on what part exactly to get. Is it an SPNO or SPNC relay I would need?

Apologies in advance for the total newbieness.

Last edited:

Joosh

Feb 25, 2017
Hi all. Once again I have a complete newbie question here,.

I wear headphones and more often than not I cannot hear when someone is knocking at the door. I have a wireless doorbell that lights up a piddly little red LED for about 5 seconds to visually catch my attention but as it's so nondescript I often don't notice it. A lot of the equipment tailored towards the hard of hearing with lights and such are horrendously overpriced because they can get away with the pricing. Instead I am hoping it would be possible to cut out that LED and replace it with a relay which will light up a string of flashing battery powered multicoloured LEDs instead.

This is a crude image of what I was hoping to do: http://imgur.com/a/r64un