Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Time delay relay or switch?

mav76

Aug 31, 2013
So I am just a mechanical engineering student and I am working on a personal project to learn more about circuits and how they work. I really don't know much about this stuff so any help would be great. What I am attempting to find is some type of time delay relay. What I need is a relay that has a 5-12v DC input and is normally closed. So when the voltage is supplied, it would be passing current straight through to energizing node 1. I would like to have a trigger(node 3) apply a low voltage with very low current(maybe 50 milliamps) to the relay and switch the relay from node 1 to node 2. Now the trigger would only be energized for a short time, but I would like the relay to stay switched to node 2 for around 5-10 seconds. Is this possible? Does a simple, inexpensive unit like this exist? I obviously don't know much so simple answers would help a lot! Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• 20130830_182832-1.jpg
    20130830_182832-1.jpg
    118.1 KB · Views: 158

CDRIVE

Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3
May 8, 2012
It's doubtful that you will find anything off the shelf that'll fit that requirement but we can instruct you how to fabricate it.

Chris

Last edited:

mav76

Aug 31, 2013
It's doubtful that you will find anything off the shelf that'll fit that requirement but we can instruct you how to fabricate it.

Chris

That'd be great chris, I'd love to learn!

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Hi mav76 and welcome to the Electronics Point forums :)