Connect with us

Time delay assistance

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by wutang43, Dec 25, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. wutang43

wutang43

Dec 25, 2013
    Hello,

I'm new to this forum and to electronics in general so bear with me...

I'm a civil engineering student working in a lab on campus, and for an experiment that we're running next quarter, we need to create a device that will release charge at a given time interval (say, every 10 seconds or so) for up to 24 hours at a time.

Now, charging up a 100v, 1000uf capacitor to 10 A using a standard DC power supply, and then touching each end of the capacitor to each end of this copper coil that we had, seemed to provide enough power to drive the experiment that we're trying to run (we're essentially creating an electromagnetic hammer--there's a small piece of iron inside a tube which is wrapped in copper wire, and the iron bounces up and then down when the charge is released from the capacitor into the copper wire).

So that would be fine, except I need to automate this process so that I can attach a constantly charged capacitor to the copper coil, and have it discharge at a given time interval, and then recharge, discharge, etc for about a day. From reading things online, it appears to me that a programmable time delay relay would do the trick. However, most of the ones I've seen only allow ~16 different on/offs per day.

So, I was hoping that someone here could recommend some type of device that would allow me to automate this process, or if I'm barking up the wrong tree, then hopefully point me in the right direction. I'm hoping not to spend too much money on this, though the professor I work for has allotted a couple hundred bucks to build this, so anything within that price range would be acceptable.

Many thanks!

2. Laplace

Laplace

Apr 4, 2010