Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Testing a electrolytic Cap

MichaelDP

Nov 18, 2014
I'm not a total noob to electronic repair, but kinda new to testing caps. I have a pc monitor that has know issues with caps on the power supply and I do see slight bulging but I just want to make sure and test it. I thought my multimeter could check caps.. But is it certain ones or itty bitty ones. The cap I want to test is 1000uf 16v 105c.. My meter has these settings
20u, 2u, 200n, 20n, 2n. its a socket type so you just stick the cap into the 2 slots. But there is no ground side so maybe you cant check those types of caps with it. Is there another way to check them without having to buy another meter...

thanks and new to forum Hello All..

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
You need an ESR meter to check the relevant characteristic of the capacitors, the actual capacitance is not particularly important compared to this.

Buy same or higher voltage, 105C, same or slightly higher capacitance, and preferably low ESR capacitors -- and then replace them.

chopnhack

Apr 28, 2014
I'm not a total noob to electronic repair, but kinda new to testing caps. I have a pc monitor that has know issues with caps on the power supply and I do see slight bulging but I just want to make sure and test it. I thought my multimeter could check caps.. But is it certain ones or itty bitty ones. The cap I want to test is 1000uf 16v 105c.. My meter has these settings
20u, 2u, 200n, 20n, 2n. its a socket type so you just stick the cap into the 2 slots. But there is no ground side so maybe you cant check those types of caps with it. Is there another way to check them without having to buy another meter...

thanks and new to forum Hello All..