Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Temporary on/off switch and second switch turns all off

smiddle2012

Aug 2, 2012
Hey guys,
I was wondering if someone could help me with a simple logic circuit? I studied them in one class in college but can't remember them in detail. I want to hook up a two momentary push button switches to a motor and led. When Button 1 is pushed the motor turns on, when button 1 is pushed again the motor turns off.

If the motor is running and button 2, which is a limit switch, is pushed the motor turns off and the led turns on until button 2 is released at which time the LED turns off and the motor stays off and button 1 can be pushed again to start everything over. Also if button 2 is pressed while the motor is off nothing happens at all. The led only turns on if button 2 turns of the motor and is only on until button 2 is released. Hope that makes sense. Thanks in advance for the help guys, hope all of you are having a great week!

SM

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Because you gave such a clear functional description, I have designed a circuit that I think will do what you want

attachment.php

This circuit operates from a 12V power source, and drives a 12V DC motor. It can supply up to 1A to the motor; if the motor draws more than that, you will need to use a larger diode for DR. You may also need a larger MOSFET in the Q2 position as well.

The circuit is based on two CMOS ICs. U1 is a CD40106B hex inverting Schmitt trigger IC, which contains six identical inverting gates, which are shown in the schematic as triangles with small circles. The U1A gate is not used; its input is tied high. The circle end is the output, and the gate drives this signal to the logical opposite of the input. The "Schmitt trigger" characteristic of the inputs improves the circuit's immunity to noise and problems caused by slowly changing voltages. Look up Schmitt trigger on Wikipedia for more information.