Connect with us

Tantalum Capacitors

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Twodio, May 17, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Twodio

    Twodio

    35
    0
    May 17, 2013
    Hey guys.
    Recently i was get a problem with a NEC-TOKIN that can be replaced for one pack of 4 tantalum capacitors.
    But the problem is that where i live don't have it, and a haven't visa card to buy at one online international store.
    I found a store that could export it for me and i just need to pay an impost price + ones that i don't know why, but it doesn't matter, cause i can pay at same.
    I need to know too where i can found Tantalum Capacitors around of 220uF and 330uF from old equipments

    Or then, can tell me another that i can use to replace it.

    Thank you.
     
  2. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    25,411
    2,779
    Jan 21, 2010
    What are the specs of the capacitors that you require?
     
  3. Twodio

    Twodio

    35
    0
    May 17, 2013
    One total of 1200uF the voltage is 2.5v each.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2013
  4. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    25,411
    2,779
    Jan 21, 2010
    Sorry, I don't have anything like that. I would have mailed you one if I did :)
     
  5. Twodio

    Twodio

    35
    0
    May 17, 2013
    Is 330uF per capacitor, at all is 330 x 4 to stay under of 900uF that is NEC-TOKIN default capacitance.
     
  6. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    25,411
    2,779
    Jan 21, 2010
    I'm struggling a little to understand what you're after.

    Do you need to replace 4 capacitors? If so, what are the original values, types and voltage ratings?
     
  7. Twodio

    Twodio

    35
    0
    May 17, 2013
    I don't speak english fluently :x
    The values is 330uF with 2.5v.
    And i need 4 of them
     
  8. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    25,411
    2,779
    Jan 21, 2010
    I have some tantalum 330uF 6.3V caps. Unfortunately they're in an E1 SMD package. Something like this.

    Any use?
     
  9. Twodio

    Twodio

    35
    0
    May 17, 2013
    I think that it can't be, NEC-TOKIN OE907 have 900uF and works with 2.5v.

    I still doesn't know where found this capacitor from old electronic.
     
  10. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,647
    1,884
    Sep 5, 2009
    its still not clear because at one point you are saying 1200uF
    then another time you are saying 900uF
    which is the total value you need ? 1200? or 900 ?

    and what is a NEC-TOKIN OE907 ??

    firstly the voltage rating isnt too important doesnt matter if the voltage rating is a bit higher ...
    the only consideration is if there is room on the circuit board for the higher voltage capacitors as they will be a little bit bigger.

    If these capacitors are in a power supply then it also doesnt matter if you have a total capacitance of 900 or 1200uF ....
    1200uF would actually be better.

    so we need a better explanation from you....

    what is the equipment ? computer ? audio system ? something else ?
    where in the equipment are these capacitors being used ?

    Dave
     
  11. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,647
    1,884
    Sep 5, 2009
  12. Twodio

    Twodio

    35
    0
    May 17, 2013
    Hi davenn.
    The equipment is an Toshiba L300, and i said 900uF because the value cannot be lower than default. I read a lot forum in internet and study a lot of capacitor to be minimum able to work in my own computer, because i cannot found only one tantalum capacitor from local market (Angola).
    But i never knew that i can use values under of default voltage.
    Can i use values until 16v if i found them?
     
Ask a Question
Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?
You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Electronics Point Logo
Continue to site
Quote of the day

-