Connect with us

Switch Types

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Rich18144, Aug 21, 2012.

1. Rich18144

Rich18144

Aug 21, 2012
    Hey guys,

A quick question for you. I am looking for a fairly basic switch that can wirelessly be activated on passing a certain point, remain on until it passes the same point. Kinda like a reed switch that stays on.

Thanks for your time,

Rich

2. GreenGiant

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
    any relay/transistor could do this with the right circuitry, but you should try googling "lap timers" and things of that nature

3. Rich18144

Rich18144

Aug 21, 2012
    Hi,

Thanks for the information Green Giant - I will admit I am almost a complete beginner with electronics. Perhaps if I explain the exact situation I can be a little clearer.

I am in the process of planning a Model Railway Layout that uses a DCC controlling method. This results in a constant flow of electricity passing through the rails, as opposed to the old style (DC) layouts which altered the flow of electricity passing through the rails to control the trains.

I have a few coaches that use the old DC style layout. They have, within them, a series of LEDs that are controlled using the rail current. As DCC uses a constant current, the lights in the coaches will be lit no matter if they are or aren't in motion.

As a result, I intend on having a portion of track that contains the coaches along with some form of wireless switching system, so that when the locomotive pulls them out of the siding the switches activate the lights in the coaches. When I am done with the coaches, I would return them to the siding, passing the switch activator again, turning the lights off.

That is the type of switch I am looking for.

Would the relay/transistor system still work for this?

Thank you for your time,

Rich

4. GreenGiant

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
    you would need some sort of light sensing system, this tied to a relay would work well