Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Surge monitor

Starkers

Sep 1, 2017
Hi, I'm a mechatronic student trying to build a circuit that reads an ac source and counts transient events over a specified time period. I would also like to output a 1 if the events detected within this time reaches a set number.
My thoughts so far are to use a pic and program it to measure voltage/ rate of change over time using a pt as i want to be able to detect a surge at any point in the sine wave. But researching this is getting me more and more confused as there seems to be so many alternative ideas and viewpoints. So i finally decided to post to a forum.
Is this idea as easy as it sounds? Is this the most effective way to solve my issue? Or is there a better way?
Any hints/ assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Externet

Aug 24, 2009
A clean sinewave has always an expected value in the next millisecond (or less). Comparing the expected (table value) with the reality reading may trigger a time stamper and an anomaly counter.
Synchronizing the table being read and the power sinewave would be vital.
-If am expressing myself properly-

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
You could also compute a fast Fourier transform (FFT) over an integer number of periods of the input signal, then remove the fundamental component from the result. The higher order frequencies' energy content is indicative of a surge.

dorke

Jun 20, 2015
You should start with the definition of what is an electric surge.

While this definition may not be singular, in electric power lines it is usually defined as the excess of voltage or current above the allowed/expected max. peak.

The main concern is it's destructive nature,
both to the power company and the end user's equipment/lines etc.

If this is the definition you adopt,
then you should measure the access in voltage(current) above the allowed swing of the line feed and possibly it's time duration.