Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Summing difference amp outputs

Harpy

Nov 3, 2011
I am new to this, but have been doing a lot of reading to get up to speed,

The circuit I am designing has two primary inputs which go into negative input of difference op amps, with a set reference on the positive input, so the input can be inverted from a rising voltage to a falling voltage.
The outputs need to be summed and I was just going to simply put them through a passive averager setup, basically connecting each output to opposite ends of a 100K pot and using the wiper as the output of the averaged sum, this would also allow me to vary the mix between the two outputs to be 50:50, 90:10, 30:70, etc.
I thought this was a pretty elegant solution, then thought, as the difference amps have negative feedback, would the averaged voltage influence the feedback amount and hence alter the output?
Do I need to put the outputs through a buffer amp before summing/averaging or can it be done by using additional resistors on the output of each, say 500K - 1M?

Thanks in advance.

Edit: Just thought I better add, it is not an audio circuit, so a bit of "noise" is not an issue, the final voltage output goes to a pwm generator to drive a solenoid, the pwm unit is off the shelf type, controlled by a small pot, that is where I was going to connect in, I suspect internally it first goes through an amplifier as well before generating the square wave pulse, so I expect the op amp outputs to be adequate.

Last edited:

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi harpy
welcome to the forums :)

sorry cant help you on your specific prob not my field. just didnt want you to think you were being totally ignored
hopefully some one will come up with some suggestions :)

Dave

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
I would think that your idea would work. The feedback with an op-amp enables the output voltage to be set more or less independent of the load.

Why not post a sketch of what you have?

Laplace

Apr 4, 2010