Connect with us

Stereo to mono adapter

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by yagsirepusrj, Jul 7, 2011.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. yagsirepusrj

yagsirepusrj

Jul 7, 2011
    I'm trying to make and adapter that would go from a 1/8th inch stereo jack to this mono headset and just want to make sure I get this straight. Is all I need to do is to add a low ohm resistor to the left stereo output and one on the right output and bridge them together? Here is the schematic for the headset I'm trying to use.
    [​IMG]

2. Resqueline

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
    Yes. that's all that should be needed. I'd suggest using resistors somewhere between 12 & 22 ohms.

3. yagsirepusrj

yagsirepusrj

Jul 7, 2011
    Thanks for the reply but do you have an explanation on why I should use on of those. I'm new to this stuff and I'm just trying to figure out how and why it works

4. Resqueline

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
    Modern headphones usually have an impedance of 32 ohms, and the resulting load should end up somewhere in that vicinity. I'tll be a compromise but it's not critical.
    The resulting impedance after the stereo-mono adaptation will depend on the phase of the stereo signal, where low frequencies are usually in-phase while high f's are not.
    The impedance of your present headphone is 19 ohms / 2 = 9.5 ohms.
    For in-phase signals the ideal resistor values are: ((32 ohms / 2) - 9.5 ohms) * 2 = 13 ohms.
    For 180 degrees out-of-phase signals the ideal resistor values are simply 32 ohms.
    To retain maximum volume it's best to use low resistor values though, and its at low frequencies where it matters most anyway (where the most power is present).

5. MagicMatt

MagicMatt

Jun 15, 2011