Connect with us

Stereo amplifier volume fades over time

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting and Repair' started by fredmeews, Mar 29, 2014.

1. fredmeews

fredmeews

Mar 29, 2014
    Hello! A problem has developed with my solid state subwoofer amp: after a short (1-2 minutes) time, the volume fades.

If I switch it back on immediately, the volume is still very low. If I wait 1-2 minutes, the volume is back at a normal level, then fades again.

Any ideas? Thank you!

2. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    hi there
    welcome to the forums :)

Maybe power supply failure due to heat
    show us some sharp and well lit pics of the circuit board(s)
    do you have any test gear ... a multimeter??

cheers
    Dave

3. fredmeews

fredmeews

Mar 29, 2014
    Dave - Thank you for the reply! I don't have any test gear, but could buy it if you think there's a chance of a total newbie figuring this out.

Here are the pics of the circuit board. You can see where I desoldered / cleaned / resoldered the pot.

Also here is what the outside of the unit looks like. The amp is inside a subwoofer box that powers 2 small satellite speakers.

Thanks again!

Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
  4. k7sparky

k7sparky

Mar 7, 2012
    On the back of the board looks like your power (output) inline chip or chips can't tell.
    I see some white heatsink goop and that I am guessing is your power chip.
    It needs a good physical contact to a heatsink. If it has an overtemp roll off that would do what you are describing.
    If that is the case it will be plenty hot. Might have had a clip of some sort holding it to a heat sink

5. KrisBlueNZ

KrisBlueNZ Sadly passed away in 2015

Nov 28, 2011
    Thanks for the photos. Here are some disordered comments.

It looks like there are two output ICs along the back edge of the board, with the white thermal goop on them. I assume you've unscrewed these from the heatsink to get the photo, right?

It could be useful to know the markings on those devices.