Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Steel work bench

Status
Not open for further replies.

Timothy Frost

Oct 4, 2016
I'm an electronics noob, and I mean in the very early stages of learning. I live in an apartment so I have limited space for a workbench and I found this steel one on harbor freight http://www.harborfreight.com/multipurpose-workbench-with-light-60723.html. I like it because it's small, has lights and an outlet. I know a steel workspace is a bad idea, but my question is, would this be ok to use if I just put a sheet of plywood on top?

bushtech

Sep 13, 2016
I have a wooden workbench to which I have stapled a piece of leather upside down to it so that the shiny side is down. Works quite well, things don't slide around

Timothy Frost

Oct 4, 2016
I have a wooden workbench to which I have stapled a piece of leather upside down to it so that the shiny side is down. Works quite well, things don't slide around
Thanks for the reply, sounds like a good idea, but I'm looking at this specific bench because of it's features, it's size local availability. I'm worried about electrocution risk foremost

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Thanks for the reply, sounds like a good idea, but I'm looking at this specific bench because of it's features, it's size local availability. I'm worried about electrocution risk foremost

personal thought would be that it would be best to have something thicker and more durable than the leather cover. do the plywood layer
and if you think you may get into electronics a bit deeper as time goes by, then it would be wise to also invest in a proper bench top anti-static mat and wrist strap

this sort of thing ......

ThickBox_pcvalet-uk-mat-kit-grey.jpg

cheers
Dave

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
Connect the workbench to a reliable ground. That will reduce the electrocution risk and provode anti-static protection.

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010