Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Startup Capacitor tiny 3-6 volt DC motor

kingdomoffurr

Feb 27, 2011
Hello, I wonder if any of you could help me? I am a bit new to Electronics and I've got to make a motorised bubble blower for a degree project.

I've been given a DC motor of the above voltage that I want to run super slow.

The problem is the inertia current it requires requires it to be going almost full speed and I want it to run at a very slow rate.

I've thought about putting a capacity in series after doing some reading, just to get it up and running, but I've no idea what type I need, also will it work?

The motor is connected to a variable resistor, I assume the capacitor goes after the variable resistor?

Thanks

Ryan

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
That's not going to work.

Have you thought of gearing the motor?

kingdomoffurr

Feb 27, 2011
That's not going to work.

Have you thought of gearing the motor?

Its got worm gear, driving an axle at 90 degrees to it already as a kit So, I assume this means I am going to have to have it running full speed and put some kind of gear ratio on it?

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
So it's already geared somewhat.
Did you mean that you have tested the motor with the variable resistor and that to get it started you have to turn the resistor down so low that the motor runs almost at full speed once it gets going?
What's your power supply voltage, and what are the resistance values?
Can you use more advanced electronics than a resistor?

kingdomoffurr

Feb 27, 2011
So it's already geared somewhat.
Did you mean that you have tested the motor with the variable resistor and that to get it started you have to turn the resistor down so low that the motor runs almost at full speed once it gets going?
What's your power supply voltage, and what are the resistance values?
Can you use more advanced electronics than a resistor?