Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Starting with electronics

DoLoop

Aug 23, 2017
I am willing to learn how to build simple stuffs but i have no knowledge and i have no idea how to start learning.

What i ask you to do is to help me get tutorials on how to build something that i will describe now and with that will be my start point and i will be able to continue.

So let's say a simple project is that i have display with simple `ON-OFF` on it (it needs to be display so i learn how to connect them) and then simple button that will tell a led light to turn on/off but not directly with switch but through chip (i do not know how to call it, but programmatically) and then toggle text on display.

I have no idea where i can look for tutorials about displays or chips so if anyone could point me it would be a huge help.

Just to point out i am programmer c#, C++, .Net - also worked with SQL

Tha fios agaibh

Aug 11, 2014
Welcome DoLoop.
Your programming background will make learning microcontrollers a breeze.
Learning the fundamentals first is best. I find many tutorials on youtube, but old fashioned book reading is even better.
After you get a grasp of the fundamentals, you can look into circuits that involve pull-up and pull-down resistors, antibouncing of switches, regulators and similar.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
If you want to do that project, and you are a beginner, I would recommend Arduino. It is a programmable microcontroller that is intended to support hobbyists, rather than serious electronics engineers.

But, you won't learn much about electronics with that project, you will learn about programming microcontrollers. And not even that very well, since you will undoubtedly use library code to run the display for instance.