Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Sound activated alarm

am1

Jun 3, 2016
Hi everyone,

I should start by saying i have very little electronic knowledge (which is why i am here!) but my dad would be able to build and solder together anything i need, if he knows what parts are needed and what to do with them.

I wanted to create a system that would be triggered by specific sounds, to ring a bell/alarm in a different room, this is because I use a wheelchair, and sometimes can't reach my phone, so i thought this would be a good way of creating a hands free system of getting someone's attention if they can't hear me and i can't reach my phone.

How would i do this?
Is it possible to make a trigger that is only activated by specific sounds, like clicking your tongue?

Any help or advice would be really appreciated

Thanks

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
Radio amateurs have repeaters on hills to retransmit signals and enable communications over longer distances.
The repeaters were turned on by a tone in the received signal. Early tranceivers did not have tone generation circuitry and some amateurs with good pitch would whistle up the repeater.
Some similar circuitry with a microphone could be used to sound an alarm.

A wireless door bell could be used if you are able to press a button.

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
Is it possible to make a trigger that is only activated by specific sounds, like clicking your tongue?
It is possible to do that... and more. Voice recognition software is readily available for installation on personal computers such as lap-tops and tablets. You could add a USB relay controller to ring bells, light lamps, turn on a coffee maker... whatever you wish to control that operates with electricity. Just speak into the microphone and say, "Jeeves, please turn on the porch light. I am expecting company." The software can be "trained" to recognize words and phrases and will ignore extraneous content.

am1

Jun 3, 2016
Thanks for the replies,