Connect with us

Something simple...

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by FrankyTee, Jul 30, 2011.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. FrankyTee

FrankyTee

Jul 30, 2011
    Newbie here...

I am not a electronician. I used to be a troubleshooting guy on CNC machines. So I am able to find the source of a problem and change the dammaged parts, but I dont have the theorytical knowledge to solve this little problem of mine. You might find this stupid or anything. I am trying to convert my 18V cordless weed eater to a 18V, with a cord weed eater.

The motor was originally powered by a 18v rechargeable battery with a capacity of 1700 mA. I have a transfo, 115V-28V with a capacity of 100va. The output is transit through a diode bridge and converts the power into dc. Since the output of transfo is 28V I need to lower it to 18V so I want to lower the voltage with the help of a potentiometer. The guy at the electronics shop sold me a 25k Ohm linear potentiometer and told me this should do the thing. But it is not working. The motor is not running at all. But if I bypass the pot, the motor starts to run. So I am sure the pot is the source problem. But I dont know if it is because it is defective or if the resistance is to high.

Can someone enlighten me? Any help whould be much appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. Laplace

Laplace

Apr 4, 2010
    As a rough estimate let's say the resistor needs to drop 10 volts (28-18=10) at 2 amps. R=E/I=10/2=5 ohms. Your 25K resistance is a bit high. What I would try in place of the resistor is a string of power diodes in series, with each diode dropping 0.7 volt. You should not need more than 10/0.7=14 diodes, maybe a few less. Note that the power dissipation necessary to drop 10 volts at 2 amps is 20 watts. I don't suppose that 25K pot is rated for 20 watts either.

3. Resqueline

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009