Connect with us

some forum use tutorials

Discussion in 'Announcements, Suggestions & Feedback' started by davenn, Jul 1, 2010.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,803
    1,941
    Sep 5, 2009
    Hey Ian,

    for the life of me i cant remember how to embed images within my posts
    I can add an attachment but you have to click on a file name and it loads into an external viewer

    had a look around the place and couldnt find any general tutorials/info on how to do different things on the forum

    chers
    Dave

    PS us old so and so's need some memory joggers occassionally ;) senility is just around the corner and sometimes I wonder if altizimers (SP) isnt already here
    hahahaha
     
  2. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    25,482
    2,830
    Jan 21, 2010
    try using the "insert image" icon. It's the second last one on the quick reply thingy.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    1,487
    435
    Aug 23, 2006
    Haha, that's quite a big smilie :D

    If the image is already on the net then you can use the "insert image" icon that Steve used in the post above ([​IMG])... or if the image is on your PC you'll need to attach it using the paperclip icon (or the attachments button). This will insert thumbnails at the end of each post with the images there. If you want them to appear large in the thread, just right click on the link to the images and then post them using the image button.

    Use this thread as a test and we can help out if you get stuck. :)
     
  4. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    25,482
    2,830
    Jan 21, 2010
    If it is on your PC, you can upload it to a service like imageshack and then use the "insert image" tool, specifying the direct link to the image that Image Shack gives you after your upload.
     
  5. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,803
    1,941
    Sep 5, 2009
    attachment test

    ok that is what happens if I use the attachment uploaded from my PC, it doesnt create a thumbnail

    as Ian suggested ...quote .... or if the image is on your PC you'll need to attach it using the paperclip icon (or the attachments button). This will insert thumbnails at the end of each post with the images there.


    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 2, 2010
  6. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,803
    1,941
    Sep 5, 2009
    attachment test 2 inserted from my www site ....

    [​IMG]
     
  7. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,803
    1,941
    Sep 5, 2009
    soooo... :)

    can I ONLY show an inline image if it is inserted from a www site ?

    Dave
     
  8. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    25,482
    2,830
    Jan 21, 2010
    I believe so.
     
  9. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    1,487
    435
    Aug 23, 2006
    Unfortunatly it's not possible to generate thumbnails from BMP images on the forums, it only works for JPG and GIF images :(. I've just found this out now and tried to change it, but it's down to a limitation with the image encoding used.

    However, it is possible to insert an inline image when you've already uploaded an attachment, you just need to copy the image link URL and paste that in using the insert image button.

    I've uploaded an image (you'll see it at the bottom of the post). What I then did was right click the link, then click "copy shortcut" and then click the insert image button and use that same link:

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 2, 2010
  10. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    1,487
    435
    Aug 23, 2006
    I tried the same thing with your BMP image, but I can't get it to display in IE8 :confused:. Perhaps it only works with GIF/JPG/PNG images?

    No wonder you were having problems, I see the confusion now!

    It should work for other file extensions though :).
     
  11. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,803
    1,941
    Sep 5, 2009
    ok let me look in firefox

    I mainly use IE8 ok on your other comments re file types etc
    I will try converting that bmp to gif and then attach .....

    ok interesting result. I copied and pasted that original .bmp image link into into the insert image box
    and presto there it is :)
    BUT .... only in firefox !! its not viewable in IE8, yet another of the many failings of IE8 hahahaha

    now I will try with a gif image uploaded from my PC as an attached file (not inserted)

    there we go thumbnail present in IE8 and F-Fox
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 2, 2010
  12. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,803
    1,941
    Sep 5, 2009
    OK I can live with that :)

    I dont upload images too often

    no big deal.... just convert to .gif before uploading. that suits both browsers.... just have to remember that now haha

    thanks steve and Ian for your guidance

    cheers
    Dave.
    Oz
     
  13. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    1,487
    435
    Aug 23, 2006
    No problem! I'm glad it's working now :).
     
Ask a Question
Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?
You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Electronics Point Logo
Continue to site
Quote of the day

-