Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Solenoid Circuit Help

Skyman

Feb 17, 2015
Wasn't sure whether to post this in "Microcontrollers and Programming" or here so I posted it here as well.I'm new to Arduino and programming so I need some advice. My goal is simple: control a solenoid with an Arduino by using a MOSFET. I'll send a digital signal to the MOSFET, turning it on, allowing high voltage (+30V) to be applied to the solenoid. I'm using a TDK Lambda power converter that converts AC to DC. I'm not sure if my schematic is correct or not. Im confused about the difference between the Ground on the Power converter and the GND (Ground) on the Arduino. Also wasn't sure about the -V on the power converter and whether or not this connection along with the ground connection on the Arduino was correct. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I want to make sure my wiring has no errors.Scan 47.jpeg

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
I assume you are powering the arduino separately?
And if so the power common (-ve) for each supply has to be connected together.
If that was your question.
One problem with N.A. terminology, GND (chassis) is also used for (Earth) GND.

M.

Skyman

Feb 17, 2015
Maybe the question I'm trying to ask is if it is okay to have the Solenoid Coil going to the Ground of the Arduino. As in, when the Mosfet allows the high voltage to go from its drain to source, is it okay that it will go to the Ground of the Arduino like in my diagram? Is there a limit of voltage/current the Arduino can take for its ground pin? Is this a logical question to ask or is having a common ground (to the Arduino) the right thing to do?

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
Yes, when combining two separately sourced devices they both require a common reference point, in this case the 0v side of each supply, or GND if you like.
IOW both supply gnd's are connected. The solenoid current does not flow through the Arduino.
M..

Skyman

Feb 17, 2015