Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Soldering problem

McDroogie

Dec 25, 2012
I’m still fairly new to soldering and I’ve noticed after I change my tip and use it for a few hours the solder it melts blobs onto the copper trace with difficulty. However when I first use it, it doesn’t blob and contacts with the copper trace immediately. Any suggestions? Is this a common occurrence?

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Are you regularly cleaning your tip whilst it is in use?

A damp sponge or a ball of what looks like brass swarf are two common ways.

McDroogie

Dec 25, 2012
I do clean after each application, but I use steel wool. Do you think a damp sponge would be a better option?

ben1s

Jan 19, 2013
try not to use any solder. just use what you have on the tip. plus try to lower or higher your
soldering temperature. let us know how are you doing.
goodluck.

Externet

Aug 24, 2009
Take it as religion : to solder properly, the components, traces or leads to be soldered have to be hot, not just the solder.
You heat them by touching with the solder wetted tip, then apply solder to the junction of tip and component for only as long as to produce the proper flow and amount of solder.

McDroogie

Dec 25, 2012
I just tried the damp sponge and it works great. I figure now, the steel wool worked, but it only took of large shards of cold solder; the sponge however gets everything.

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
Avoid the steel wool, your are adding foreign contaminates to your tip... Get a sponge or even a damp paper towel or rag...

Even though Steve said to ignore ben1s advice, and I mostly agree... I have to ask is this a soldering station with an adjustable temp range or just your generic wand? If you have temperature adjustment, you might very well have it too hot...

Also how often are you changing tips? If you take care of a tip it should last a LONG time, years for a casual hobbyist if maintained...

And last but not least, flux is your friend...