Connect with us

solar workshop time

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by donkey, Nov 26, 2011.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. donkey

donkey

Feb 26, 2011
    well its time I got off my lazy backside and finally got into building my solar workshop.
    Before I start spewing forth details please note I am NOT a licensed electrician and am trying to minimise the use of one. In fact I hope to not need one except for plugging up my inverter but will see what people say.

Anyway the items I will use in the inverter will be chargers mostly, I know that boosting up to 240v then back down to 18v is not ideal but will have to do for now. the only exceptions I can think of would be a fan for air flow, a soldering iron and a light(will try to find an awesome LED one). the question becomes however, At any point I could be charging AND soldering with fan and light in use, what inverter, battery and solar panels should I use? given that on average I will use it for about 3 hours per day 2 days of the week.

also is there a battery tester that comes with solar chargers to monitor battery usage? I would hate to spend money on a deepcycle and have sulphation render it useless. I would ideally like the monitor to stop overcharging the battery while at the same time switch from solar to mains if absolutely necessary, while displaying details via a bar graph or lcd if I got enough money

and last but not least are there any decent trichargers? I mean one that charges the battery from solar first, then wind if there is any and then lastly mains if the first 2 are not working?

edit: this IS the last thing, I am trying to make it portable as well as we don't own this house. would there be anything I should consider before putting it on a trailer?

Last edited: Nov 26, 2011
  2. davelectronic

davelectronic

Dec 13, 2010
    Hi donkey.