Maker Pro
Maker Pro

solar powered planter box lights

markalishousfantastico

Oct 5, 2010
i would like to build an led lighting system for a planter box. what would be the easiest way to go about this. i was thinking it would probably be easiest to just buy some cheap solar powered garden lights and use the parts from them and slightly modify them. or would it just be easier to start from scratch. i would like to power somewhere in the vicinity of 20 to 30 leds that only come on at night. sorry if this is a stupid question im only new to electronics.

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
Look, I don't think people are ignoring you, we're just not sure what you're trying to do.
I'm assuming you want these LED's for decorative lighting at night, but we don't know that from what you've said, maybe you're trying to supply enough light to keep the plants alive in a dark room? It matters.
It doesn't take much power to run a string of LED's, but you can do that with a wall socket and a photocell to detect darkness, ....unless, and we don't know, there's some particular reason why you want to use (apparently), a solar powered rechargable (again, uncertain) power system from a garden lighting system.
Is this going to be at a remote location, so you can't use house power?
Are you trying to charge this system during the day, and run it at night?
Is it for growing things, or just decorating the planter at night?
Maybe they're stupid questions, but answers get smarter when we know what you want.

markalishousfantastico

Oct 5, 2010