Connect with us

Solar Powered Phone Charger

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by WaleLuvr, Aug 29, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. WaleLuvr

WaleLuvr

Aug 29, 2014
    I am new to electronics and looking for some help. I have a small solar panel and want to turn it into a portable phone charger. Not sure what i would need and where to connect anything. Looking for someone to completely help me with this build. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. BobK

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
    How small.

Bob

3. WaleLuvr

WaleLuvr

Aug 29, 2014
    It is 1.25"x1.25"

4. ketanrd01

ketanrd01

Aug 11, 2014
    can you check the output voltage of your solar panel using multimeter? I guess a panel of this size cant provide sufficient voltage to charge your cellphone WaleLuvr....

5. WaleLuvr

WaleLuvr

Aug 29, 2014
    I could easily purchase another panel much larger. Could you recommend a size/voltage?

6. ketanrd01

ketanrd01

Aug 11, 2014
    one providing around 12V. It is much larger WaleLuvr

7. ketanrd01

ketanrd01

Aug 11, 2014
    The size makes it difficult to use as a portable charger but you could make a stationary one

8. WaleLuvr

WaleLuvr

Aug 29, 2014
    Thank you.

9. WaleLuvr

WaleLuvr

Aug 29, 2014
    Is there anyone on here that could help me write the plans to this? Everything I need and how to assemble.

10. BobK

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
    How much larger?

Solar panels produce about 150W / square meter.

To charge a cell phone in a reasonable time you are going to need about 1A at 5V = 5W.

So you need 5 / 150 = 0.033 square meters. With is a square of 18cm (7 in).

Your 1.25in panel, if you could make it work efficiently, would take about 30 times as long as a 1A charger would take (say 2 hours.) On a good day, you get about the equivalent of 6 hours of full sun. So maybe 10 days would do it, if it don't rain.

Have fun.

Bob

11. WaleLuvr

WaleLuvr

Aug 29, 2014
    I guess a solar panel that will output that much.