Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Solar phone charger (no output!!)

Lawrence1986

Apr 29, 2014
Hi,

Before I explain my problem I should probably say that I'm only starting out with electronics so I apologise now for any mistakes or inaccuracies within my post.

The Project:

I've got four 5.5v 180mA solar panels. These all have blocking diodes soldered onto them. They are connected up in series. When tested with a multimeter all 4 produce around 7.5v indoors.

I connect them to a 7805ct 5v regulator (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=191152529292)

The solar panels are connected to the input and the ground pin goes back to the solar panels - connection.

When testing them with the multimeter the input of the regulator shows around 2.5v and the output shows 0v. But when I disconnect the panels they still read about 7v so I know they are generating enough voltage. I've also connected a female usb port to test which is shown in the image file attached.

Ive also tested the voltage regulator using my switch mode power supply and on this it functions correctly and drops voltage from 7 or 12 volt down to 5v.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Lawrence

Attachments

• solar charger circuit.png
    solar charger circuit.png
    18.2 KB · Views: 117
Last edited:

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Hello Lawrence, welcome to our forum.

The schematic looks mainly correct (with exemptions, see below #1). Two ideas come to my mind:
  1. Do you have the blocking capacitors in place as recommended by the datasheet (page 7, figure 1)?
  2. How do the panels behave when loaded? Put an ammeter in series with the panels and use a variable resistor as return to close the circuit. Measure the output voltage of the panels for different currents. Indoors your panels may not generate enough power to drive the regulator (it uses from 4-8 mA by itself).