Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Solar panel help for newbie...

AndrewG

Apr 26, 2011
I'm a newbie to creating circuits, though I can happily put together pre-designed ones!

I have a need to run two PC fans (12V 0.11A) from a 12V solar panel. There is nothing clever needed - simply put - the sun shines, the fans are on!!

Now - the rating for the panel is as follows

Peak Voltage 17V
Peak Current 0.59A
Peak Power 10W

I need to create a board which will expose two pins for each fan (and maybe a 3rd and 4th for future expansion). My fans already have 2-way 2.54mm kk PCB plugs attached...

I was thinking of somthing like this - but I might be wrong! (This is for Stripboard with the copper strips running vertically)

(From Solar Panel)

+.............-
+--R---L--- + -
+ xxxxxxxx -
+--R---L--- + -
+ xxxxxxxx -
+--R---L--- + -
+ xxxxxxxx -
+--R---L--- + -

R being a resistor, L being an LED, and the + - being the PCB interconnect pins that the fans will plug into. (the xxx's are when I cut the copper strips to keep each row separate)

I hope thats clear enough, though I fear its probably not! I'd like to know if this is enough to go on, and what the value and safe power rating of R would be... I'm not sure I've got the LEDs either, so I can actually do without them, I assume this won't affect the value of R too much?

Hope someone can help, cheers...

Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
You may be best off creating a simple "amplified zener" to act as a shunt regulator across your solar panel and then take the 12V directly from this.

See here. Use the circuit for the battery charger and omit the series diode.

You would need to use something like a 2N3055 attached to a heatsink to dissipate the additional power your solar panel is producing. A 1W zener should be fine. something around 11V to 11.5V 1W should be fine. No real need for the additional diodes in the base either.

AndrewG

Apr 26, 2011