Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Solar Garden LED lights upgrade.

Rowan

May 14, 2015
Hello,

I wonder if someone can give me practical advice.

Over the last few years I have made a number of purchases for garden "chain" LED lights which are solar powered. The lights switch on automatically at dusk and switch off at dawn. But the product rarely lasts more than a year as the battery efficiency deteriorates fairly quickly. As mentioned the weak point of the system is the batteries, these eventually only stores enough current for an hour to two after a few months. That said, I have managed to change the batteries on a number of occasions and I am now looking to make a permanent upgrade for the whole system

The actual LED' lights, cables and connection are robust and never seam to fail.

I am not technically minded nor have the knowledge to calculate efficiencies; but I am practical, and have a better than average acumen when it comes to tinkering with electronic components. I therefore propose to change the standard solar panel and battery to power the current LED string lights and add another set of LED lights.

Objectives

1) use a larger battery to store more electricity to allow the lights to stay on over night. The battery would also hopefully retain excess charge should we have any cloudy days.
2) run further LED lights. These will be used to illuminate some small trees and a covered area.

Proposed purchases for the project

The following solar cell.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Photonic-Un...09884&sr=1-50&keywords=car+battery+solar+cell

The following solar charge regulator.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B006OAFH...TF8&colid=1GWM3VOQOHPAZ&coliid=I1K33DCLXOU1XU

Standard car battery
https://www.tayna.co.uk/054-Lucas-Premium-Car-Battery-P8907.html

The following step down transformer to power LED’s
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Car-Power-Converter-Display-Supply/dp/B008VORADW

The following lights
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Proxima-Dir...31613670&sr=1-3&keywords=400+led+solar+lights