Maker Pro
Maker Pro

solar cell to replace 1.5v batt - noob

nopuk

May 11, 2015
Hi,
Total noob here. I have a small office desk toy that runs off a 1.5 v battery. I would like to solder battery connections to my solar cell and leave it on the window - i know it will not work all the time, and perhaps not half as well but i just like renewable energy toys.
So im guessing my plan of just connecting wires is wrong since either current/voltage will spike on a hot day and kill the toy. Any help for a circuit to make to cap the voltage ? As i said total noob so simple is better :)

Anon_LG

Jun 24, 2014
Do you know anything about the internal workings of your toy, does it involve complex processing? Does it take the voltage directly in or does it feed through a regulator? Generally, if it is something simple like a motor connected to the battery, just hook up a 1.5 volt open circuit maximum solar cell, the toy will however have to be in *very* bright sunlight, such as summer daylight however. If you like I could help you out more with the circuitry and get a system that will enable the device to operate at lower light levels as well with a few extra components.

Provide some pictures of cell and toy (preferably opened up), if you can not open it up and you decide to do this straight away ensure you connect the positive terminal of the solar cell to the positive terminal of the battery holder and likewise for negative - > negative.

I hope this helps, I am happy to provide more,

nopuk

May 11, 2015
Thanks Lavaguava, the toy ( see pic - see attached ) is a rotating globe, seems to be just a small motor hooked to a 1.5 battery.

the more circuit needing less light sounds interesting :) but im scared :)

Attachments

• IMG_20150511_203121650_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20150511_203121650_HDR.jpg
    159.3 KB · Views: 181

Anon_LG

Jun 24, 2014