Maker Pro
Maker Pro

SMD 0805 capacitors

Viktor

May 8, 2017
On my board I'm having tons of small 0805 capacitors (unmarked).

Measuring ESR one of them has almost 95ohms and on a similar board it's only 0.3ohm..

I'd like to replace it but there is no manual available so it's impossible to figure out the values.

How would I go about doing that on such a small capacitor? Would a regular DMM or LCR meter be able to measure the pico farads ?

And how fragile are these bastards to soldering? Is it fine to desolder and solder with a hot air gun?

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
What makes you think it is picoFarads? You can get up to 100uF in that size.

Did you measure the ESR in circuit? If so, the reading is meaningless.

Desoldering is most easily done with a hot air gun. Soldering is easier with a regular iron with a small tip.

If you don't have tweezers, get some.

Bob

Viktor

May 8, 2017
Glad to hear some feedback, I'm new to electronics and am very happy to get opinions.

Firstly, I haven't assumed any capacitance yet. It was more of a- what if scenarion.

Secondly, what's your argument for not being valid if measured in circuits?
Isn't the purpose of an ESR meter to use very low test voltages so semiconductors connected to the capacitor won't turn on, and therefore being able to measure in-circuit without having any impact on your readings? As long as there is no coil or another capacitor connected directly across the cap in parallel?

I had two identical boards, and measured most of the capacitors and got a near identical ESR measurement on all capacitors, except for one of those 0805 ones who had a 94,7ohm difference. ( That cap with 95ohm ESR (IN CIRCUIT) was next to a burned component. )

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
With something to compare and that large difference, you are right, it has identified a problem capacitor.

Bob

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Typically ESR measurements are only valid for capacitors above some value.