Connect with us

Small Games Console With A LCD Screen

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Lyon, Oct 5, 2010.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Lyon

Lyon

Oct 4, 2010
    Hi all,
    I am new to electronics and am wanting to make a small games console (For the learning experience and fun).
    Nothing major, just a small LCD screen with a D-Pad (four buttons) and some other buttons. (Like a gameboy but instead of having cartridges the games are built in).

It would only be required to run games like tic-tac-toe, tetris, pong, and maybe something like mario.

So far I have only done programming for windows and linux based machines/consoles, so I know I would have to learn some ASM code (I've read through a few tutorials and it dosen't seem too complex).

I am unsure as to what I would need in the way of processing and memory storage. Obviously I would like to use a LCD TFT 24-bit screen, but to keep price down I thought I would settle for either an 8-bit screen or monochrome.

Does anyone have any advice on what Ideally I should be using for processing and memory storage? (Or any advice on this project in general)
    Also would it be possible to code everything in C++ (obviously would require some ASM code)?
    The way I envision it working is to have say a function in a Screen class as :
    Screen::SetPixel(unsigned int x, unsigned int y, Color color)
    {
    //ASM code to set a screen pixel to the specified colour
    }
    If that is not possible and things would have to be done another way please just let me know.

Thanks,
    Lyon

2. mindthomas

mindthomas

Oct 5, 2010
    This is more than possible to make with an ARM like the STM32.
    With that you can even use a 16-bit digital interface with ease - and even controlled by the power of C.