Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Slow glow LED, how do I make one?

kila2000

Sep 27, 2012
Hi
Total new here, only just registered and I'm a total novice at circuit building. I know a little stuff but everything has been learnt from asking others.

My question is, is there any way I can an LED start from off and slowly brighten to be fully on and then stay on? I have seen youtube vids of LEDs that slow glow and then slow fade using 555 timers and capacitors and such. What I have is 4 2v red LEDs wired in series to a 12v power supply with an 82ohm resistor in there. I would like to flick a switch and have the LEDs slowly brighten and then stay on til the switch is turned off again. Is this at all possible, and if so, could someone please talk me through how to make the circuit.

Thanks for any help you can give
Wil

kila2000

Sep 27, 2012
Wow, quick reply. Thanks for that.
It looks to me like hes using a momentary switch, so if I was to use a spst on/off switch the LEDs would fade out until I turn it off, is that sound right?

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
When you flip the switch on it would fade in and stay on until you flipped the switch off, than it would fade to black...

kila2000

Sep 27, 2012
Awesome. That would work for me. ummmm ..... he mentions a bigger capacitor means a slower fade in, if I use a bigger cap would I need to adjust the resistors?

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
if I use a bigger cap would I need to adjust the resistors?

No, not necessarily... But, playing with the values of the resistors will have effects (as the author states) best thing to do is to build it and play with it... Resistors and caps are cheap, pick up a few different values of caps, and a resistor assortment and have fun playing...

kila2000

Sep 27, 2012
Thats awesome, and so easy too. Thanks so much.

I have another more complicated question, wondering if you could help.