Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Slow down this circuit's oscillation

Jose Maria Rico

Jul 5, 2014
Hello again, Electronics Point!

Hope you all are doing just fine today.

I have another circuit now. The main components are two flip-flops with basic on/off inputs, and two AND logic gates. The actual circuit I built is made up of BJTs, but drawing that diagram would be very time-consuming.

Flip-Flop 1's output ALWAYS defaults to on when I turn on the circuit. That way, only one output will be on at a time. The problem with this circuit, as you might notice, is that if I send an input signal, the flip-flop output pins will oscillate on and off altenatively until the input goes low. I want to slow this oscillation down to about 0.5s or 0.8s, which is a little bit more than the time the input will be high for. The voltage source is +5V, from USB power.

I assume the solution would involve adding a capacitor somewhere. I'm not very experienced with the use of capacitors. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

EDIT 2: Maybe I could delay the On signals for each Flip-Flop for a little longer than the input high time. I don't know if building a delay circuit from jellybean components is easy, though.

99.png

Last edited by a moderator:

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
Instead of the lines going from the two Outputs to the inputs of the ANDs, try putting a resistor between them, then a capacitor from the input to ground. That should slow it to something on the order of RC seconds of on / off time.

Bob

Jose Maria Rico

Jul 5, 2014
Hey, thanks for your response. Can you be a little more specific, please? You mean connecting the Outputs to the AND inputs via a resistor, and adding a capacitor to the single Input pin? Because that didn't work, and I think it made the input signal last even longer. Maybe I'm not understanding what you mean.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014