Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Simple transistor question

ross135

Apr 12, 2011
Hi everyone,

Very new to electronics and just need some once off help, I think. I am a software developer but I require some indication lights for my Windows based software. I have picked up a thing or two and programmed a pic12f683 to receive commands serially and turn pins high based on the command. Everything is working, but I obviously cannot add a real load to one of these pins since they are only 25mA and 5v.

I have 2 Strobe Beacons that I want to connect to each pin, they are 12v DC and 800mA each so I need an NPN Transistor I just have no idea which one! I dont think a relay is required, since it is only lets say 1Amp (800mA so 1Amp to be safe?) I know how to wire up the transistor and such, I just don't know which transistor and what resistor to use with it.

Can anyone be so kind as to advice me on a part number suitable for my needs?

Thanks in advance,
Ross Steytler.

tip120

Sep 24, 2010
The easiest thing to find would probably be something like a 2N3055, way overpowered for this application but you can pick them up almost anywhere, including radio shack, and they're cheap.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
2N3055 will probably require far too much base current for the PIC to supply.

I would probably look for a logic level mosfet (e.g. 2SK401) or a darlington transistor (e.g. TIP110), or a medium power device like a BD139.

If you choose a bipolar device you will need a base resistor (chosen to supply the correct base current -- use 180R or higher for the darlington). If you use a MOSFET then it is also typical to have a gate resistor (and 220R would be appropriate)

tip120

Sep 24, 2010
2N3055 will probably require far too much base current for the PIC to supply.

I would probably look for a logic level mosfet (e.g. 2SK401) or a darlington transistor (e.g. TIP110), or a medium power device like a BD139.