Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Simple relay circuit help

Robkiller

May 21, 2014
So I feel that this is so simple yet I am not getting it done. I want to take a transistor and place it in a normally closed state to run a normally open relay on a 12vdc system. I want to turn the transistor off using positive voltage ( I am guessing by adding positive voltage to the base) (I can call for what ever positive voltage is needed). This will turn off the relay back to its normally open state. When power is taken away from the Base of the transistor the relay kicks back on.

Please any help would be great. I am new to posting to the forum but I am watching it all the time. I am new at this and am learning circuit basics still.

Robkiller

May 21, 2014
I guess I need to have a max of 5 volts to add to the base of the transistor to make it kick off the relay. I can get any volt I want.

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
268730.gif

Here's a simple and common way to do what you want.

Q2 drives the relay coil. R3 provides base bias to turn Q2 ON. D1 is needed to protect Q2 against the "back EMF" generated by the relay coil when Q2 turns OFF.

When a positive voltage (more than about 2.5~3.0V with these component values) is applied to the IN connection, relative to the 0V rail, this voltage biases Q1 ON, making it conduct and pull its collector down to near 0V, removing the bias from Q2, so Q2 and the relay turn OFF.

Robkiller

May 21, 2014
View attachment 13128

Here's a simple and common way to do what you want.

Q2 drives the relay coil. R3 provides base bias to turn Q2 ON. D1 is needed to protect Q2 against the "back EMF" generated by the relay coil when Q2 turns OFF.

When a positive voltage (more than about 2.5~3.0V with these component values) is applied to the IN connection, relative to the 0V rail, this voltage biases Q1 ON, making it conduct and pull its collector down to near 0V, removing the bias from Q2, so Q2 and the relay turn OFF.