Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Simple NPN transistor circuit

electric

Dec 19, 2013
I'm new to electronics and circuitry, so bear with me.

Attached is a file of a circuit I have constructed. Basically, what I would like is for the transistor to act like a relay, so that when there is current flowing from the timer (i.e. when the timer hits the zero mark), it forces the transistor to complete the number 2 current loop. What I don't want is for current from the higher voltage battery to flow through the timer. I essentially would like the two loops to be completely separate, so that they are independent of each other, except for one turning the other one on. Do I need a diode?

I guess my confusion stems from my lack of complete understanding of transistors and also how current flows in multiple loops. If you have any light to shed on either of those topics, please feel free to share!

Attachments

• transistor circuit.png
    transistor circuit.png
    9.4 KB · Views: 432

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Almost exactly right except the timer goes between the emitter and base.

Note that you would be wise to have some series resistance (say 100 ohms).

To turn the transistor on the base has to be more positive than the emitter and you'll need about 1/100th of the load current flowing through the base (this differs greatly depending on the gain of the transistor)

edit: I realised looked at the circuit diagram and read the load as a resistor. It is in fact a LED, so some comments further down indicate how to handle that (and then the OP says it's really a light bulb!)

Last edited:

iimagine

Oct 23, 2013
Here is one of the most efficient way of driving an LED

Attachments

• LED Driver.PNG
    LED Driver.PNG
    8.9 KB · Views: 159

electric

Dec 19, 2013