Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Simple alarm circuit help!!

Electronics48

Feb 16, 2014
Hi,

I am new to electronics and i am making a simple burglar alarm on a breadboard. It consists of a pull up button, a monostable and 2 astables and a piezo transducer. However i cannot get my piezo transducer to work properly as it will beep all the time. Could you please look at the picture attached to see if you can spot any wrong connections or anything you would recommend changing in order for it to work?

Attachments

• 009.jpg
    009.jpg
    133.2 KB · Views: 130
  • 009 (2).jpg
    009 (2).jpg
    126 KB · Views: 142
Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Do you have a circuit diagram? Your wiring looks neat and tidy, but without more information we can't do much.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Here's my guess at what it's supposed to do. You tell me if I'm right.

Let's call the 555's U1, U2, and U3 from left to right.

U3 is an astable oscillator which is supposed to make the piezo sensor go BEEEEEEEEEEEP

U2 is an astable designed to stop U3 oscillating when U2 is held in reset, When U2 is not held in reset it alternately enabled U3 allowing it to go BEEP BEEP BEEP...

U1 extends a press (or release?) of the switch. Normally U1 holds U2 reset which also holds U3 reset (so all is quiet) When U1 is triggered, it stays on for some time. This allows U2 to make U3 allow the buzzer to go BEEP BEEP BEEP...

If the piezo beeps at all then U3 is working.

If the beeping is continuous, then U2 is not gating U3 on and off.

If the button does nothing then U1 is your problem.

I would start by disconnecting the connection from pin 3 of U2 to pin 4 of U3. If you wire pin 4 of U3 to V+ the piezo should sound. If you wire it to ground it should stop. If that works OK, reconnect pin 3 of U2 to pin 4 of U3. If this fails, the problem is around U3.