Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Simp.e romote control

overture3d

Sep 28, 2012
I am working on a project that needs to have a switch that can be activated by a wireless remote from a distance. Does anyone know if you can just buy a remote activated switch and where I might find one?

KMoffett

Jan 21, 2009
What are you trying to switch? And from what distance. And are we talking line of sight, or through obstacles.

overture3d

Sep 28, 2012
Not through obstacles, I just want to be able to activate a circuit when I press a button from a distance. I am going to try using an infared LED and IR phototransitor and see if it works, but I have never built this kind of thing before so I don't really know if I am doing it right.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/82724053@N08/8057558454/in/photostream/

Theoretically, when the infared phototransitor recognizes light, it should activate the second transistor and allow the capacitor to discharge. Does this look like it will work?

KMoffett

Jan 21, 2009
Is the fuse symbol (s-curve between circles) the load? That circuit won't work because the forward drop of each transistor is 0.6V. The combination is 1.2V between the battery and the load. If there is any drop across the 100Ω resistor, there is no voltage left for the load. I've worked with IR Led's and IR photo transistors, and without chopping (eliminates ambient light interference) , amplification and collimation your range will be in inches at best.
Here is a receiver that you could use with an old IR TV remote:http://www.hobbyengineering.com/H1247.html

Ken

Ken

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Not through obstacles, I just want to be able to activate a circuit when I press a button from a distance. I am going to try using an infared LED and IR phototransitor and see if it works, but I have never built this kind of thing before so I don't really know if I am doing it right.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/82724053@N08/8057558454/in/photostream/