Connect with us

Sending .txt files through voice cell phone network.

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by ishbandori, Nov 19, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. ishbandori

ishbandori

Nov 19, 2013
    Hello, I am quite new to electrical engineering and I would like to know whether or not it would be possible to take out a speaker from a mobile phone handset and replace it with an arduino, or a raspberry pie or whatever. And then have that set up send stuff like a .txt file through the cell phone network through to a similar set up in another location?

I think it would be interesting to do, also if this was possible would it be able to work for landline networks or Satellite phone networks?

Also I've tried searching for this on the internet but I don't know the first thing to search for in regards to this.

2. OLIVE2222

OLIVE2222

Oct 2, 2011
    Hi,

Yes it' s possible to send text via a cell phone but not using the handset connection.
    As you have Arduino in mind you can use it with a GSM/GPRS shield and send you text via the shield serial port UART the through the air via a SMS or TCPIP.

regards,
    Olivier

3. batkin

batkin

Jul 23, 2013
    It wouldn't be useful compared to today's tech but for fun you could reinvent the modem and assign different frequency tones for different byte values, send them down a standard phone connection and read them out the other side. Start with a slow transmission rate and put in a check digit every X bytes.

4. ishbandori

ishbandori

Nov 19, 2013
    Thanks for the answers guys, one other question you might be able to help with. Would you be able to implement either methods using a satellite phone as well? Or would something more complex arise due to the nature of the network? I know it would be too expensive to viably send data through a satellite phone but would the connection principles be the same?

5. Solidus

Solidus

Jun 19, 2011