Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Self-made transistor RAM

AlekseiX86

Apr 18, 2013
I a'm newbie in circuit , but i have an idea to create simplest computer using only discrete diods and transistors.

I want to ask about reliability of such computer , especialy about reliability of simplest RAM memory made from discrete elements. I mean would no it be often fail some parts of computer?
And how many transistors will be include such memory , for examle 100 Bytes.
Thanks for helping.

NuLED

Jan 7, 2012
I am a newbie too but I think if you are wondering if this type of device will fail less easily than a "regular" computer, I think it might be about the same. The semiconductors inside diodes and transistors are just as sensitive to damage.

A more robust (tougher) circuit might be one that only uses electromagnetic RELAYS (like before the days of semiconductors) but you will need many hundreds of of them if you want to construct all the logic gates to create a basic calculator, using a memory space.

I could be wrong but this is my understanding so far of electronics.

Twodio

May 17, 2013
I already saw some creations and computers using simple BC548 transistor some resistors and leds to build a basic 2-bit or 4-bit computer, but even i was give up because i dont had some materials including resistors.

A simple 4-bit processor use more than 15 transistor, because they are used to build AND, OR, NOT, XOR, etc gates.

here go some of pages that i've found and saved as study material:

http://www.metafysica.nl/circuit.html
http://www.waitingforfriday.com/index.php/4-Bit_Computer

Good lucky for you ...

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
Chips are very reliable, it is the connections between them which are the problem.

100 bytes = 800 bits

I think you will need two transistors for each bit = 1600 transistors plus maybe the same number of resistors.

Relays are not very reliable as was found when decrypting the Enigma code. This led to the development of the computer based on valves (tubes).