Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Schematic editor

David Parker

Jul 31, 2010
Hi. I am just getting into electronics. I would like a simple computer program to draw schematic diagrams of circuits that can output as a gif or similar. I have had a look on the internet and there are lots of them around, at various prices. Can anyone suggest a simple program that can handle simple circuits (preferrably free)?

Thanks, David.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009

David Parker

Jul 31, 2010
Thanks very much for this. I had not considered using MS Paint but your schematics are amazingly good so I will look into it.

jackorocko

Apr 4, 2010
that can output as a gif or similar

People always under estimate what a simple screen cap can do... Use any app you want and hit ctrl+print screen. Ctrl+p in ms paint and save as. Windows 7 has snipping tool, even better.

KMoffett

Jan 21, 2009
With ExpressPCB, I export the schematic at 300ppi BMP. I than edit it with Microsoft Office Picture Manager, cropping to size and exporting to a GIF format. This gives a very readable, small size file for posting.

Ken

NickS

Apr 6, 2010
ExpressPCB is one of the best free ones
it outputs files in .bmp from general viewing/printing
I havent used my copy for ages ;)
for all my circuit drawing I use MS Paint over the years of using it I can do a complex schematic reasonably quickly

a couple of examples can be seen on my site...
here http://www.sydneystormcity.com/harris23.htm

and here http://www.sydneystormcity.com/23cm to 1.2cm Xverter.gif

cheers
Dave
VK2TDN

Wow, using MS paint for a block diagram is one thing but you used it for a 23GHz schematic design(that takes dedication).

I now rank you higher than this guy for the best argument that MS Paint is not a useless program(in the right hands).

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Wow, using MS paint for a block diagram is one thing but you used it for a 23GHz schematic design(that takes dedication).