Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Samsung TV power board help

chimp lad

Oct 15, 2014
Hi chaps, newbie here.
Was just wandering if anyone could help me identify a couple of parts on a TV power board.
There is a capacitor and what appears to be a fuse (it's basically a piece of wire) that have blown.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers.

20141015.jpg

[mod note: image upload fixed]

Last edited by a moderator:

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
That looks particularly bad. Those wires are not fuses, they are jumpers.
They are not meant to do that, and seeing that happen means that there is another potentially very bad problem with the board.
That would only be caused by excessive current draw from a short circuit somewhere or a bad component.
It could have also been caused if the jumper was degraded... but the rest of the board needs to be looked at regardless.

What is your experience with electronics?
I could recommend removing the board and getting a nice clear pick, but TV's in particular can hold a very large deadly charge in the capacitors on the board... If care is not taken you can seriously hurt yourself, even if the TV is not plugged in.

Edit: I wonder if the capacitor shorted to the jumper...

chimp lad

Oct 15, 2014
I used to repair 12v pcbs as a job so am pretty capable when it comes to multimeters and soldering irons.
My first thoughts were that it would have shorted on the power board as it went bang.
When I fetched the board out I found this. The board is mounted in the centre of the TV. I first thought it may have been a cat hair as the cat sleeps behind the TV a lot.
The TV itself is 7 years old.

chimp lad

Oct 15, 2014
Do you think just replacing them and seeing if it runs would be worth it? As said, I'm pretty convinced that it was shorted with cat hair.
I had a pc do the same on me a few years back.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi ya chimp lad
welcome to the forums :)

the chances are one of those transistors have failed as well

Dave

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014