Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Samsung TV Boards

Jordan Hickin

Feb 24, 2016
Hi Guys

I have a Samsung 42 inch TV. Passed its Warranty and guarantee. it is acting like it has a blown capacitor but i cannot seem to locate it on the board. When fully plugged in and wired up the relay can be heard clicking on and off and the led will flash. but no image or sound or any type of power-up (normally a blown capacitor)

However, upon checking the board and finding no capacitor faults (i am still checking them) i noticed if i power up the TV without the AV board attached i get the Backlight on. moment the AV board is plugged in it will not power up again.

Any ideas? am i looking in the wrong place?

Hope you can help

Update: I have found 2 capacitors on the power board next to the connection to the AV board. I was told when connected to the multi meter the reading should increase, these two are just sat at 0.03 on a 200k test. But i don't know what that means.

I am a newbie :)

Last edited:

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
Your previously received input on capacitor testing is true to a point, especially on electrolytic capacitors, but you can't always see that on other types. The phenomenon occurs because the capacitor is charging itself from the
small current used by your voltmeter to read the resistance across the capacitor. It would be helpful to know what caps you are testing. You specify a 200K reading test range, and I'm assuming you're reading .03 below zero on your meter (?). A cap by itself should not read a virtual short, but I'm also assuming you're trying to read resistance across the cap while it's in the circuit, ... which means you're not just reading the resistance of the capacitor, you're
reading the entire circuit the capacitor is in series with. So while you might be reading a short across the capacitor, it's also possible you're just reading a short across some other component in the capacitor's circuit.